Taigh Chearsabhagh Trust was initiated as a partnership between Comann Eachdraidh Uibhist a Tuath (CEUT – North Uist Historical Society) and the Uist Art Association (UAA) in 1993, which led to the opening of Taigh Chearsabhagh Museum & Arts Centre in 1995. Over the past 20 years this has evolved into a thriving museum and arts centre, now governed by a Board of Trustees and operated by dedicated and skilled staff.
The centre also hosts the local Post Office, has a retail area and café, which is overflowing with visitors in the summer months and provides an important social community haven during the winter. Our organisation employs 14 members of staff providing vital quality and non-seasonal work in a fragile rural economy. The organisation, therefore, offers a unique service in terms of creative cultural experiences for both the local community and visitors but also plays a vital role in our local social fabric and economy.
Taigh Chearsabhagh was built in 1741 by Neil MacLean (a merchant) and was built as a travellers inn. It was one of the first businesses in North Uist to have a slated roof. In 1802 a post office was established in Lochmaddy and is believed to have been in Taigh Chearsabhagh – we still have a post office here today.
Some time after 1900 the building became a house and then later a workshop for the North Uist Estate, and in 1993 it took on new life as the Museum and Arts Centre.